Hats and more Hats

No sewing or quilting this week but I hope to rectify that this weekend.  I have been spending lots of time playing with EQ working on another design for a Hoffman Fabrics collection – lots of designs but not the right one for this fabric line yet.  Course that means there are several “reject” designs that I keep thinking there are the perfect fabrics for in my stash so add more “want to make” designs to my ever expanding list. :-)

There has been a whole lot of knitting and crocheting this week tho.  A dear friend’s MIL is in need of some chemo caps so I’ve been busy working on those.  I’ve finished off four this week so I can get them mailed out.  I had to get a bit creative to get photos of them so that they stand up like hats without someone else’s head to put them on so just stuffed them with a little tissue paper and propped them on an old wooden spool.

The celery green hat is knit and so lovely and soft and I like the little lacy edge.  The on the right was my first “tester” crochet hat to see what size it turned out.  It may be a bit loose so I added a crocheted chain near the edge that I wove through which makes a bow on the front (or side) which can snug it up a little.

The next two crocheted hats are based on the dark bluey/purple one except I adjusted the sizing a bit using a lighterweight yarn and smaller hook.  The aqua/gray one is actually made with a double strand of sock yarn.  All quick and easy to make and there’s definitely no shortage of yarn here – just a shortage of solid colors so she’ll have some wacky hats to wear.

And on Wednesday I started a new sock – not that all the single ones have mates yet but I knew I wanted to make a pair out of this yarnn as a Christmas gift so need to get those done first.  I just love the colors in this yarn.

But now, a little more playing in EQ and then perhaps some sewing on my Continuous Chain quilt.  And someone should really take care of those boring chores like laundry, etc. but hmmmm… there’s other fun stuff to be done.

Denise

2 comments on “Hats and more Hats

  1. Denise, you are wonderful! DMIL will love them! I can see her styling now:-) specially the green with the lacey edging!

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!

    • You are very welcome my friend. The green is my favorite too and the yarn is lovely and soft. Let me know if it fits okay and if she likes it – I’d be happy to make some more in that style in plain colored yarns for her. It doesn’t take long to make at all.

Comments are closed.