Back to School Day 4

btsIt’s Day 4 of the Back to School project on the Quiltmaker Blog, Quilty Pleasures, and the project, my quilt design called Playground.     Free pattern information, giveaways – what’s not to like?  And all kinds of great quilts in various fabric collections from the Back to School team quilters!

My hint  applies to the instructions given for today (find the instructions at the link above).  If you scroll down the page at the link to where it shows the “Trimming Diagram” where you have to trim off the excess on the setting blocks around the edge of the quilt — I know several of the Back to School Team Quilters commented about not liking the bias edges on the edge of the quilt when they attached their borders.

My suggestion is DON’T cut the excess off before adding the borders.  I use a marking pen and draw the line in where it should be trimmed away but then I align my border strip with the drawn line,  stitch it in place, and then go back and trim away the excess.  Repeat that process for all sides.

:-)

6 comments on “Back to School Day 4

  1. Great tip! We always have extra to trim and now it won’t stretch so badly. I can’t identify Day5 yet. I’ll keep looking!

    • Can’t identify day 5? Did you go to the Quilty Pleasures blog? If you found the other days I don’t know why you wouldn’t find day five since it’s the most recent blog post.

    • Well where have you been looking? :-) Did you find day 1, 2, 4 and 5? Day 3 is right there in the midst of them. All the info is on the Quiltmaker Quilty Pleasures Blog.

Comments are closed.