Stashsbusting report 9/30/12

Woo hooo — a whole whopping 4.5 yards used for some swap blocks, and backing for two wallhangings.  A piddling 65 yards used but it’s better than nothing.  My problem isn’t bringing huge amounts of yarn   FABRIC (I was thinking about the yarn I need to dig out when I was typing the original post LOL – clearly I DO have a proble m with bringing in huge amounts of yarn!) into the stash, it’s simply not having enough time to sew to get yardage out of it and get some projects finished.  I’m thinking I may need to take a day or two off work next week so I can stay home and play. :-)  We shall see.

Here’s some of the Bloomin’ Basket Swap blocks I have. I haven’t decided yet if I want to make more blocks for a larger project or go with something smaller.  One of the ideas I was playing with is this.

Not with those fabrics but using some floral in the borders.  The floral in the border is actually a fabric we’re using for a charity quilt challenge project on TQP — making quilts for battered women’s shelters using that fabric which was donated by Hoffman California Fabrics.  I  need to decide what sort of quilt I want to make for that project too.

I did add a new photo earlier to the 12 in 2012 Challenge page .  The Ice Cube Sock pattern by Debbie O’Neill (available through Ravelry).      A bit of texture to it tho my choice of yarns doesn’t really show it off well. I’m going to have to make another pair in a more solid yarn.    This is my 14th pair completed!

6 comments on “Stashsbusting report 9/30/12

  1. Your basket quilt is so fun. I agree with you it is always tough to decide how big to make a quilt. I always wish I made it bigger or smaller when I am finished. Enjoy your day.

  2. I’m glad you were able to use your blocks. The ones I received back are unusable. Some too small, some oversize so when cut to size will lose seam allowance. One the fabric did not come to the edge.AND glitter fabric for basket. I thought I would receive only one block per person but received triplets from the same people. Very dissapointed with swap!.

    • Gee Gee – I’m sorry you were unhappy with the blocks you received back.. I’m very careful when I swap out blocks. I’d be interested in knowing what the measurements were of the blocks you said were too big since I obviously didn’t notice any that were and would not have swapped them if I had. I, of course, did not go through and measure every single block but, when they looked off – did measure and return them unswapped if too small and did a random sampling of others just to make sure.

      I did allow fabrics that had gold accents on top of the tone on tone basket fabrics to be swapped simply because they were tone on tone fabrics and I never said anything one way or the other in the swap instructions about fabrics with metallic accents. Nothing was ever said about receiving only one block from each person — that seldom happens because of the number of people and number of blocks each sends – some send 20 some send 4.

      • Thank you for your reply. I received 3 over-size blocks from the same person that was 7 3/4 x 7 3/4. The smaller ones measured 7 1/2 x 7/1/4 and there was 2 that measured 7 1/2 x 7 1/2 but the fabric did not come all the way to the edges. The ones that did measure correctly were not sewn all the way to the edges. When you said no oriental type fabric I assumed that meant no glitter. All the swaps I have previously participated in, all the blocks returned were from a different person, the goal being to include as many people as possible in your quilt. I was hoping to receive one of your blocks. Oh well, lesson learned, NO MORE swaps for me. Thank you for your time and trouble.

  3. Hi, I am Tennye and I wanted to say thank you for the lovely pattern you gave us for your birthday. I made Flitterin for my oldest daughters birthday and she loved it. I have posted some of my process on my blog and will later post the pictures of the quilted quilt. Thank you for something I could use to give her a special gift.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed making it Tennye and that your daughter loved it. Please share your blog’s address so we can check it out.

Leave a Reply

