Quilting Time

I don’t know why I procrasinate so much on layering a quilt – its not my favorite thing to do but put in a movie and get going and it’s done in done time.  So I got the quilt pin basted and started quilting – just a meander in the main section – haven’t decided yet what I’ll do with the borders.  But since I’ve been quilting for about three hours and the last of the three bobbins I had wound just ran out, thought I’d take a break since I can feel my wrists tiring. 

I’m about 2/3rds done with the center.

Tho I generally don’t use a lot of soft shades of colors, I love the muted patterns in these.  They are McKenna Ryans Sand in My Shoes collection for Hoffman Fabrics.  I’ve got enough of them to make another quilt for me to keep – which I will probably make larger than this one so it fits my bed.

The backing is one of the other fabrics from the line, a very soft colored seashell print.

Think I’ll go trace the April wallhagning pattern on my fusible and cut out the pieces for that  while giving my wrists a rest from pushing around the quilt.  I keep changing my mind on what fabrics to use for that but have settled on these for part of it.

The large print will be the umbrella – the green/white print her raincoat, and then there’s my mud puddle fabric.  Have to go see what I can find for the rest of it.

Denise

Leave a Reply

