Design Wall Monday

I looked at the alarm clock this morning and was just about to panick when I remembered – today is still a vacation day. :-)

Woven Ribbons has come down off the design wall since I need to wait for the backing to arrive before I can go any further with that.  Just Butterflies is acutally on the floor in front of the design wall as I toss fabrics every so often at it from the stash to see if I like it for a border.  So far no luck – found one I liked colorwise but the print is too overpowering so will search some more later.

But what IS on the design wall is CUPCAKES!  (I haven’t had breakfast – they are making me hungry).

As I was digging through the tops and blocks storage tubs yesterday I decided I really needed to pull a baggie of something out of there and get it finished.  So grabbed these wrinkly cupcake blocks.  “Cake” and “frosting” are all batiks.  I can remember making these oh, probably 5 years so so ago.  I’ll be cutting down the block size since there’s too much background around them and come up with a setting for them.

These were also in the baggie — I consider these “Muffins” since they look far to healthy with their fruit on top. :-) Ummm… muffins… those woudl be good for breakfast…. These will be something separate - maybe a set of potholders or something.

 

 

 

And as I was digging through fabrics I decided to change my mind again on what fabrics I will use for my March Wallhanging borders.     My original plan was to use these but there is not enough value contrast between them.

But among the Sand in My Shoes fabrics I found this purple shaded ombre.  I think it could be interesting since the checkboard style border will change shades.  So I may have to start on those borders today too.

But better turn off the computer if I’m going to get anything done.

Denise

6 comments on “Design Wall Monday

  1. I love the cupcakes and muffins! I have been wanting to make a cupcake quilt, but have not started it. I love the idea of the muffin quilt!

Comments are closed.