Stashbusting Report and Machine Quilting with Flat Stanley

Well the stashbusting is off to a good start.  Zero purchased and 5 yards used so far – backing for the quilt pictured below with Flat Stanley.

I’ve added a link for this pattern, Braided Flannel Knots in the right sidebar under Weekend Projects.  It’s got abbreviated instructions – cutting and placement image for one block, but not specific piecing instructions. It’s a simple block tho so you should be able to lay out your pieces and figure out the assembly easily.  I think it would also make a really cute kids quilt with novelty prints in the large center square and coordinating fabrics for the “knotted braid.”

  Flat Stanley has been helping me with some machine quilting.  We’ve got this one about half way done.  He also went out for breakfast to meet a friend of mine, but we forgot to take the camera along.   There was only one minor incident, he was playing with a bobbin of thread and got himself in a bit of a tangle. :-)

A more progress has been made on the sock I had to rip out.  I’m nearly back to where I was when I discovered the dropped stitch.  Stanley is thinking one of those socks might make a good sleeping bag to sleep in.

Denise

6 comments on “Stashbusting Report and Machine Quilting with Flat Stanley

  1. I like the flannel pattern! Don’t have any idea on it yet……. hmm, maybe Christmas prints. I guess I am still stuck in Christmas. I think that I would stuff Flat Stanley into a sock and keep him there if he insists on tangling all your threads, lol!

    • I’m still stuck in winter/christmas themed projects too. It would look good in christmas prints. I’m thinking about using some bright snowman prints from a fat quarter swap we did on TQP a few years back which brights surrounding them. I left Flat Stanley at the office today – hopefully he’ll do a little of my work for me tonight while I’m gone

    • I’m having fun trying to think of things for Flat Stanley. He has a little book you write information in that travels with him and you can email photos directly to the teacher to let them know where he is. :-)

Leave a Reply

